As I was cruising the aisles of my favorite Hat City liquor store (Warehouse Wine and Liquor) I blitzed by the Sea Hag and Ghandi Bot to the single bottle shelf.

I must have been in a daze, because I saw what appeared to be an IPA label with a Irish storefront owner by the name of McSorley. Upon further examination, I found that this is no India Pale Ale. It’s an Irish Pale Ale! Though I do love the my Harpoon and Sea Hag, I hadn’t heard of this beer.

Turns out it’s made by Pabst. Unlike the flagship Blue Ribbon, it pours a dark copper with a hint of red. The thick head poured to almost 2 fingers (Yes, I know how to pour a beer) and was tenacious in it’s thickness of fine, orange bubbles.

As I stuck my schnoz over the rim of my mug, I smelled a bit of grass, and a little bit of metallic malt. I had to breath deep as this isn’t a particularly smelly ale.

After letting the ale calm to a single digit’s thickness of head, I let McSorley’s ale flow down my gullet. After plunging through the thick, viscous head, I found overpowering wheat and metal in my mouth. As the head shrank, the metallic burn left my mouth, leaving to notes of bread and oatmeal.

I sat gulping away, the mouthfeel is a bit hollow- No real discernible texture and middle-of-the road carbonation left me unimpressed.

I would imagine this beer’s demographic to appeal to New Era wearing 18-34 year olds who are looking for something with a bit more class for Monday night’s game. Just like football itself, the beer overall leaves me bored, unimpressed, and wanting to do something a bit more engaging.

With a cost of two bones and CT sales tax for a single 12oz-er, much better beers can be found at the same price point (Like Boss’s Black Porter, 1.69 in Fairfield County).

I’d drink this beer if I it was the only option next to a Bud Light, or a Natty. Pabst could have stepped up their game with the amount they are charging for McSorleys. Two dollars for boring beer with boring packaging. Though nostagia may be trendy, the early 20th century packaging motif is a hackneyed and trite aesthetic in 2011.

Form mimics content for this ale. McSorley, you left me sore. Pass.

*

Overall: 4 out of 10 shamrocks. At this price it almost grabs the attention of the Molly Maguires.

Cost: Too much! Two bucks for too little.

Availability: On tap in New York, shipped elsewhere.

Drinkability: I’d pound em if there was nothing else available. After a few, I more than likely wouldn’t mind watching football or drinking boring beer.

